Girl power

“Girl power in my mind is to let girls be exactly what they are. Let them be angry. Let them be resentful. And rebellious.
Let them be hard and soft and loving and sad and silly. Let them be wrong. Let them be right.
Let them be everything. because, they are everything.”
Amy Sherman-Palladino

IMG_9353

“If you want to change the world, then you start with the girls.
It stands to reason: they learn faster, and they pass on what they learn to their children.”
Terry Pratchett, Snuff

IMG_9349

IMG_9351

I’ve been thinking a lot about the power and beauty of being a woman lately. As I get older, I understand more and more what a blessing it is to be a girl, and I get more and more proud and confident in who I am.

I always jokingly say to myself that I can not wait to see how amazing I’l be at the age of 50, because I’m almost 31 now and I feel better than ever. Every year, it seems like I get better looking, smarter, funnier, stronger, just – more badass.

And I’m sure it’s that way with most women.

I write about this a lot, and I always rave about girl power, and how beautiful they are. And if you’re not that confident in yourself (yet), I hope some of what you read on any of my platforms, makes you feel better and gives you a bit of a push in that direction of being confident. Because, really, you should be so proud of yourself.

As I always say, we’re not the prettier gender because we’re physically more beautiful. We are that because we are more in tune with our emotions, kinder, more generous, nurturing, understanding.. We’re the light, the sun and the moon and the stars in this universe of ours. We make everything brighter and warmer.

We give balance to everything and everyone, we bear and raise children, other humans who can make the world a better place, we are the soft pillow when our partners need a cry and comfort, and we are the strongest rock when they need support and cheer.

We do so many things at once, and we are not even aware of the greatness, because to do so much, and more – is just natural to us.

When given the opportunity to be ourselves, to shine and thrive, when we are loved and supported and cherished – we are everything.

Not all of us have the best parents, or the most loyal and supportive husband or partner or friends, not all of us realize how special and amazing we are. 

So I ask of you today – if you cherish and respect and admire a woman, whoever she might be – even if you never spoke to her – let her know. Send a message or a card, leave a comment or call her, and let her know that you think she’s amazing. Make her feel loved and supported and cherished. 

Lift her up. It makes you bigger and better.

“You will always be taller with someone else on your shoulders. “

IMG_9348

 

IMG_93483

IMG_9345

VXMO5535

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

IMG_9343

 

IMG_9339

IMG_9338

IMG_9341

IMG_9347

IMG_9340

IMG_9342

IMG_9344

Thank you, Stella, for letting me walk around and strut like a badass, whenever I’m in front of your camera. Thank you for cheering me on and making me feel like a million dollars whenever I’m around you. Whatever beauty I show in these photos, it’s all just you in my mirror.  ❤

Leave a Reply

