Home.

 

This afternoon, I took my “find beauty in your hometown” challenge even further. 🙂 And so I decided to find it only in the rooms I was currently in, which was my kitchen, and my old bedroom that had the doors open to it.

First of all, let’s all be in awe together about photogenic my cat is. If I had noticed this earlier, I could have been a millionaire by now. 😛 I’m so in love with the photos I took of him, he’s so handsome!

And then, this guy. This old man, whenever I see him, he reminds me of warm weather and quiet, summer afternoons. We never actually spoke, though I heard him yell at people making noise manyyy times. He’s your typical old, grumpy person hating on everything that goes on in the streets when he’s trying to sleep. I know that, ’cause I’m the same. 🙂

But, for years and years, ever since I can remember actually, I know that as soon as warmer weather comes, I will be seeing him across from me whenever I’m in the kitchen. He’s the only one who’s window is ever open in that building, and he always sits right next to the window, so you can see him watching tv, reading newspaper, eating… Not that most people would care, but I do. I’ve always been somewhat of a voyeur, I guess. Not in a creepy way, I just love watching people go on about their normal, daily things, especially when they’re not acting like someone is watching. And people watching is such a pleasure of mine. I always make up stories in my head, about their life, and what they did that day, and if they’re happy, if they’re passionate, if they have coffee  or tea in the morning.. Is that weird? Probably. 🙂

But, one of my favorite movie scenes ever, is the opening of one of my favorite movies, ever – Ghost world. They show Enid, the main character, dancing in her room to some old songs, and then – what goes on in the buildings around at that same time. And it’s just people having dinner, watching tv, you know – the usual stuff. But for some reason, doesn’t it feel like we’re all so alike? And like we’re together in all of this? I don’t really know how to explain it, but there’s just no pretending in being at home, in our most relaxed, comfortable editions and states of mind. No joke, if there was a whole movie like those few minutes of the opening scene, I would watch it all. And love it.

And so, to get back to the point, this old guy is like  a comfort zone for me. Things change, and life passes, but there’s one thing I can always expect when I look through this window. He’s smoking his cigarette, unbothered, enjoying the view and his afternoon, loving life. At least, that’s how I see him. (I’m aware, he’s not always gonna be there, though. But for now, and hopefully  many more years to come, he is.)

And I can not explain to you how serene that makes me every single time. I’m glad I got these photos, too.


* Press play to listen to music I listened to as I was editing these. 🙂

 

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

Processed with VSCO with tk preset

Processed with VSCO with tk preset

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Leave a Reply

