New mornings.

 

Today I woke up to see my Baby feeling better. The poor thing has been sick with a fever for two days, and there aren’t a lot of things that give me more anxiety and stress than seeing my dog feeling ill. So when I saw her fever is gone, already it was a great day for me. I decided to take my camera with me, on our walk to the vet, in case there’s a pretty photo opportunity.

And then, as I walked outside there was this old man enjoying his morning on a bench. It made me feel so serene just seeing him looking up in the trees. So I took his photo, and thought about how many “ordinary” photos I don’t end up taking, just because I’m so used to everything around me. Like that park, I walk through it every day, at least twice, and it’s gorgeous every single time, but it’s “my park” and why would I take photos of it.

So I decided to give myself a little project – to take photos as if I’m seeing things for the first time. To shoot everything I would capture if this wasn’t my city. And even though I’m a sucker for beautiful light and beautiful windows and whatnot ALL the time – it made me see  the beauty even more, and left me with 80 photos.

And I think I’m gonna be practicing this thing daily. To take photos as if I was on a vacation, to enjoy moments as if I was on a vacation, to see my closest people as if I’m just meeting them and falling in love with their souls all over again. To try to as often as I can have a pair of fresh eyes, and see every morning as a new start.

Baby was very brave at her vet appointment, so I bought her a few treats, which she happily munched on. And then as I was taking photos of some people having coffee above our Arena, I went ahead and entered my tourist mode all the way 🙂 and I sat and had coffee there as well. And it was so relaxing and lovely, just as thought it would be.

While I was taking one shot of a street near my house, I bumped into a friend. Who was almost shocked I am taking a photo, and asked me why am I doing it, and if I’m a photographer now? (Aren’t we all photographers always?! :)) I told him I just in general love snapping pics of everything. And also “But look at that light?! You don’t see that beauty??” And so he agreed it’s pretty, and that one should seek for beauty in ordinary things, but also looked pretty weirded out. 😀 And I know that if I was younger, I would be almost embarrassed to have a camera around my neck, and snapping photos next to my house, and God forbid – have someone see me. Same goes for sitting on  a bench reading a book, or even drinking coffee alone (not being on my phone). Which is such a shame.

We should be encouraging eachother to do that, to enjoy the little things and to grab every opportunity to feel peaceful and happy with our surroundings, with ourselves –

and I’m sure then, we would feel happier with eachother, as well.

I hope your day is wonderful and you manage to see it with fresh eyes and a full heart. 🙂 ❤

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

IMG_5291

IMG_5301

IMG_5298

IMG_5292

IMG_5297

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

IMG_5290

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

IMG_5293

IMG_5294

IMG_5300

IMG_5295

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

IMG_5299

IMG_5296

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

Save

Leave a Reply

